Description of the event

Following theories which supported free home and foreign trade, and in contrast with the nationalist egoism that led to World War II, already in 1945 forms a movement supporting European unification.
An indisputable push in this sense is given by the “Marshall Plan” (ERP European Recovery Program), which since 1947-48 grants substantial reliefs to European countries, provided that they organize and prearrange among them in order to receive and deliver fairly reliefs coming from the USA. This is warranted with the creation of the European Organization for Economic Cooperation.
Another important step towards European integration is made in May 1949, when is established the European Council, with residence in Strasbourg. It has the purpouse to intensify and strengthen relations among European countries. These relations should be characterized by mutual respect, solidarity and cooperation.
The first treaty among European countries is signed in 1951: in Luxembourg is established the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSE). It represents a supernational authority, independent of Governments of member countries, with the purpouse of overcoming every kind of protectionism and fairly regulating the market of these two important resources. The constituent treaty is underwritten by France, Belgium, Netherlands, Luxembrourg, Italy and West Germany.
On March 25th, 1957, the same countries sign in Rome the constituent treaty of the European Economic Community (EEC) and of the European Community for the Atomic energy (EURATOM). The first one aims at facilitating and liberalizing trades among member countries, while the second aims at coordinating studies on the atom made in different countries, and at using this energy in a pacific way. The kind of integration built in this moment is definitely restricted at the economic field, without any implication in political sovereignity.